Buhari Approves Reconstitution of Boards of FCTA Agencies

By: Ben Ukeji

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reappointment and constitution of Boards of Agencies of the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) for effective and efficient service delivery to the residents.

The reappointment of Chairmen of the previous board for a second term is reported to be based on their satisfactory performance while serving on the former boards.

A statement from the Senior Special Assistant Media to the FCT Minister, Abubakar Sani, indicated that the President approved the renewal of the appointment of Chairmen and members of the board on Tuesday, 21st February 2023.

The statement quoted the the FCT Minister, Mallam Muhammad Musa Bello as saying that the boards have been reconstituted to replace some members of the former board who have stepped aside or have taken up other political engagements.

“As provided by relevant extant laws and regulations governing the respective agencies, some of the board members are institutional representatives”, the Minister said.

Among those appointed are the renowned Town Planner and former acting Executive Secretary of the Federal Capital Department Authority (FCDA) Mrs. Zaliha’u Ahmed, who is to serve as the Chairman of the FCT Urban and Regional Planning (URP) Tribunal while a foremost transportation expert and the former FCTA Transportation Secretary, Mr. Kayode Opeifa has been appointed as the Managing Director of the Abuja Urban Mass Transit Company Ltd. (AUMTCO).

The statement further stated that the Minister, while wishing all the reappointed officials a successful term in office, insisted that AUMTCO would be expanded to take responsibility for the Abuja Light Rail Mass Transit System.

Other Boards of FCT Agencies approved by the President are of FCDA, which is to be headed by the Minister of FCT as Chairman while the Executive Secretary, FCDA, is to serve as Secretary of the board.
Other members of the Board include Hussaini Mongono, Haruna Hamza, Alhaji Bala Mamman, and Lawrence Onuchuku, Omasan Magrete Agbajoh, and Solomon Ayuba Dagami, among others.

According to Sani, the Board of Abuja Investment Company Limited (AICL) is to be chaired by Mal. Yahaya Ibrahim and has the Group Managing Director, (AICL), a Representative of FCTA Economic Planning Secretariat, a Representative of FCDA, Salamatu B. Umar-Eluma, Alh. Yusuf Tsayyabu, Alh. Hassan Y. Gwagwa, Mamuda Lawal Musawa, Joash Ojo Amupitan, and A’isha Ismail Mukhtar.
Others are Pius Odioko Ovbije, Kabiru Usman, and Hon. Osita Opara and Kabir Muhammad Dankaura.

The Board of Abuja Property Development Company (APDC) is headed by Mohammed Idris as Chairman.
Other members are the Managing Director/CEO, (APDC), a Representative of Abuja Investment Company Limited (AICL), a Representative of the Nigerian Institute of Estate Surveyors and Valuers (NIESV), a Representative of FCDA, URP Dept., a Director Development Control, Hon. Yakubu Adamu, Shaban Ishaku Tete, and Pastor Illoh Samuel.

It also noted that the Board of Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB), Board is headed by Dr. Engr. Bawuro Yahaya as Chairman while the Director of AEPB is to serve as the Secretary.
Other members are Prof. Muhammad A. Garba, Chairman, Abaji Area Council, Chairman, of Abuja Municipal Area Council, Chairman, of Bwari Area Council, Chairman, of Gwagwalada Area Council, Chairman of Kuje Area Council, and Chairman of Kwali Area Council. Others are the Director of Health Services, FCTA, Director of Planning, Survey, and Land FCTA, Hashimu Sa’idu Angama, and Hon. Musa I. Jatau.

Meanwhile, the Abuja Investment and Infrastructure Centre (AIIC) Board is headed by the Secretary, Economic Planning RG & PPP as Chairman while the Coordinator AIIC is to serve as the Secretary. Other members are Aisha Yakubu, Felix U.C. Uzozie, Shagari Baba, Thomas Musa, and Hon. Daniuma Dauda. Others are Engr. Dahiru Dasin, Polycarp Nwabueze, Udah Ugochukwu Beke, and Group Capt. Zagi Rabo Zakka.

It also stated that the FCT Secondary Education Board (FCT-SEB) Boards is headed by Musa Yahaya as Chairman while the Director, of SEB is to serve as the Secretary.
Other members are Mr. Sunny Monedafe-Permanent Member I, Haruna Muhammad Nabayi- Permanent Member II, Chairman, of Bwari Area Council, Chairman, of Gwagwalada Area Council, and Chairman, of Kwali Area Council. Others are Mrs. Chimezie Nwaobiara J.O., Aliyu Danjuma Kawu, Hassana Nyelang, Usman Ibrahim and Mrs. Aisha A. Jijiwa.

Also, the President approved the Board for FCT Scholarship Board (FCT-SB): The FCT-SB Board is headed by Barr. Yakubu Haruna Gana is Chairman while the Director of, the FCT Scholarship Board is to serve as the Secretary. Other members are HRH Alh. Jibrin H. Tanko Gomo of Kuje, Representative of FCDA, Haj. Safiya Tukura and Yunusa Dantani Sarki. Others are Mr. Mathew Bejakai, Mr. Dogo Williams, Mr. Dogara Simon Ginnade, and Alh. Abbas Baba.

The Board of Abuja Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) was not let out as it was constituted. The ABC Board is headed by Abubakar Jijiwa as Chairman. Other members are the Managing Director, Abuja Broadcasting Corporation, Chairman, NUJ, FCT, Ayodele Samuel, Salamatu Bello Jibrin, Mr. Joshua Tokura, Comrade Adamu Muhammed, Hon. Aminu Danmaliki, Ibrahim Modibbo Hamman, and Bala Muhammad. Others are Yusuf Nuhu, mni, and Ibrahim B. Magaji.

Abuja Urban Mass Transport Company Limited (AUMTCO): The AUMTCO Board is headed by Dr. Aminu Ibrahim Gusau as Chairman. Other members are the Managing Director of AUMTCO, Mr. Kayode Opeifa, two representatives of AICL, the Director of Transportation, FCTA, and Engr. Bello Ahmed Roni. FCT
Urban Regional Planning (URP) Tribunal: The URP Tribunal Board is headed by Mrs. Zaliha’u Ahmed finite as Chairman while Tpl. Chinyere Patience Ome is to serve as the Secretary. Other members are Engr. Ali Akawu, Surv. Kazeem Ajibike, Arc. Bashir Adamu Hussaini and Barr. Timothy Peter Manjuk.

Meanwhile, the Board of Abuja Markets Management Limited (AMML) was AMML Board is headed by the Managing Director, Abuja Investment Company Limited (AICL) as Chairman. Other members are the Managing Director, of AMML, Abdulmalik A. Usman, the Director of Abuja Environmental Protection Board, the Director of Development Control, a Representative of Economic Planning, RG&PPP Secretariat, and Isa Ramat Sa’idu.